on air now

Thomas Larcher, composer in residence The Concertgebouw

Apr 30

This programme is all about the relationship between visual art and music. Thomas Larcher, composer in residence with the Concertgebouw in Amsterdam, is writing a new composition for Asko|Schönberg and the Ensemble Academy to play during this programme.

Larcher is fascinated by the Dutch photographer Awoiska van der Molen’s work, whose work includes a prominent place for landscapes. This has resulted in a collaboration with Awoiska, who will be creating visual material for the new work. His third string quartet, Madhares, is also on the programme. The title refers to the Madares, the white mountains near the Cretan village of Anapolis. Both works are inspired by the landscape. This concert also features works by Richard Ayres and Toru Takemitsu.

Thomas Larcher

The Living Mountain world premiere

Richard Ayres

No. 34b

Toru Takemitsu

Landscape 1


Ensemble Academy

Awoiska van der Molen photographer
Gregory Charette conductor
Sarah Aristidou soprano

Become a friend of Asko|Schönberg and support our performances. Read more

Apr. 30




Concertgebouw, Kleine Zaal

Get tickets