Thomas Larcher, composer in residence The Concertgebouw

2 9 Apr

This programme is all about the relationship between visual art and music. Thomas Larcher, composer in residence with the Concertgebouw in Amsterdam, is writing a new composition for Asko|Schoenberg and the Ensemble Academy specially for this programme.

Larcher is fascinated by the Dutch photographer Awoiska van de Molen’s work, which gives pride of place to the landscape. This has resulted in a collaboration with Awoiska, who will be creating visual material for the new work. His third string quartet, Madhares, is also on the programme. The title refers to the Madares, the white mountains near the Cretan village of Anapolis. Both works are inspired by the landscape. This concert also features works by Richard Ayres, Toru Takemitsu and Yannis Kyriakides.

Yannis Kyriakides

Music for Anemic Cinema

Thomas Larcher

new work worldpremiere

Richard Ayres


Toru Takemitsu



Awoiska van der Molen photographer
Sarah Aristidou soprano

Become a friend of Asko|Schönberg and support our performances. Read more

Apr. 2




Concertgebouw, Kleine Zaal

Get tickets

Apr. 9



Den Haag

Koninklijk Conservatorium, Arnold Schönbergzaal